Love Story in Reverse

Jasmine Alleva
1 min readApr 6, 2020
Photo by moren hsu on Unsplash

Love Story in Reverse

I didn’t ruin you
Because you didn’t send the e-mail because you didn’t type it
And your heart wasn’t broken
And I was the girl for you in Chicago
I was the girl for you in Toronto
In Portland, at the tallest hill in the city, and our tears meant different things then
Remember our days there?
Look at you in the airport
Before long distance
And we didn’t lose touch those last two years of high school
And we sat by each other in freshman English

Because of our last names
I thought we would share the same one someday

And your locker was by mine in junior high
When I saw you for the first time
Not knowing a decade and half later

You would ruin me

--

--

Jasmine Alleva

I was born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska, growing up in a warehouse in Anchorage's industrial district. Now I live in airports and stand in front of cameras.